Women in the Law 2011 selected

After receiving numerous nominations for Michigan Lawyers Weekly’s Women in the Law for 2011, 20 honorees have been chosen.

The honorees will be recognized in a special section to be published Sept. 12, and at the second annual Women in the Law luncheon Sept. 26 at the Detroit Marriott in Troy. The 2011 Woman of the Year, chosen from the 20, also will be named at the event

A Lawyers Weekly editorial panel selected the 20, and considered a number of criteria, including how the nominees:

• Commit to excellence in the practice of law;

• Serve as inspiring and accomplished leaders in the profession;

• Are mentors to other women; and

• Contribute significant time and effort to volunteerism and/or pro bono.

“We received so many great nominations, it really shows the breadth and depth of women in the legal community in Michigan,” said Publisher Donald Stemmermann. “There were difficult decisions to be made, but in our view, all of the nominees are winners. With so many great candidates comes a great opportunity for us to showcase the best of the best with these honorees.”

The honorees are:

Natalie Alane, Alane & Chartier, PLC

Hon. Dorene S. Allen, Midland County Probate Court

D. Jennifer Andreou, Plunkett Cooney

Mary V. Bauman, Miller, Johnson, Snell & Cummiskey, PLC

Elizabeth K. Bransdorfer, Mika Meyers Beckett & Jones PLC

Hon. Diane M. Druzinski, Macomb Circuit Court

Elizabeth J. Fossel, Varnum LLP

Lisa Sommers Gretchko, Howard & Howard Attorneys, PLLC

Jennifer M. Grieco, Neuman Anderson, P.C.

Eileen K. Husband, Cummings, McClorey, Davis & Acho, P.L.C.

Nancy L. Little, Bernick, Radner & Ouellette, P.C.

Andrea L. Moody, Bowman and Brooke LLP

Kary L. Moss, American Civil Liberties Union

Kathryn L. Ossian, Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone, P.L.C.

Linda Paullin-Hebden, Warner Norcross & Judd LLP

Abby L. Pendleton, The Health Law Partners

Tonya Schuitmaker, Schuitmaker Cooper Schuitmaker Cypher & Knotek, P.C.

Tricia A. Sherick, Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP

Janet K. Welch, State Bar of Michigan

Zena D. Zumeta, Mediation Training & Consultation Institute

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 thought on “Women in the Law 2011 selected

  1. Pingback: Eileen Husband Recipient of Women in the Law Award

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s