Women in the Law 2012 honorees exemplify state’s breadth, depth of legal talent

 It is with great pleasure and an honor to announce the 20 awardees of Michigan Lawyers Weekly’s Women in the Law 2012.

These women were chosen from a large number of nominees from across the state and from all areas of the law — big law firms and small, as well as those in public service.

As part of the group that had the opportunity to peruse all of the submissions, I must say I am again amazed and the breadth and depth of talent Michigan’s women lawyers bring to the table each and every day.

It was difficult to choose only 20 out of so many submissions, but that was our task and we have made our choices.

Given the high caliber of nominations, our selections are truly the cream of the crop in Michigan’s legal profession.

This isn’t just about being a success in your firm, but a balance that includes giving back to the profession, giving back to the community and also having some semblance of a real life, too. Because that’s what it’s all about isn’t it — balance?

These honorees have shown all these traits in abundance, and deserve to be singled out as exemplary examples of what is so great about the profession.

We will publish a special section with bios of each — so you can see what makes them tick — on Sept. 10.

Michigan Lawyers Weekly will host a luncheon at noon Sept. 27 at the Detroit Marriott Troy to honor these women, so you can celebrate their accomplishments. It is there where we’ll also announce our Woman of the Year.

And without further ado, here are the 2012 Michigan Lawyers Weekly Women in the Law:

Hon. Louise Alderson — 54A District Court

Hon. Susan Dobrich — Cass County Probate Court

Audrey Forbush — Plunkett Cooney PC

Julie Gafkay — Gafkay & Gardner PLC

Denise Glassmeyer — Young Basile Hanlon & MacFarlane PC

Cynthia Haffey — Butzel Long

Hon. Marilyn Kelly — Michigan Supreme Court

Monica Labe — Dickinson Wright PLLC

Marilyn Lankfer — Varnum LLP

Marla Linderman — Linderman Law PC

Anna Maiuri — Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone PLC

Cary McGehee — Pitt, McGehee, Palmer, Rivers & Golden PC

Valerie Newman — State Appellate Defender Office

Rosalind Rochkind — Garan Lucow Miller PC

Carol Rosati — Johnson, Rosati, Schultz, & Joppich PC

Sangeeta Shah — Brooks Kushman PC

Amy Timmer — The Thomas M. Cooley Law School

Ann Marie Uetz — Foley & Lardner LLP

Rebecca Walsh — Reiter & Walsh PC

Linda Wasserman — Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s