Appointments made to Model Civil Jury Instruction Committee

Court of Appeals Judge Douglas B. Shapiro and attorney Daniel J. McCarthy of Hyman Lippitt, PC, Birmingham have been appointed to the Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions.

The Michigan Supreme Court has also reappointed Judge John A. Hohman, Jr., Monroe County Probate Court, Monroe; Noreen L. Slank, Collins Einhorn Farrell & Ulanoff, PC, Southfield; Angela J. Nicita, Allen Park; Gary P. Gordon, Dykema Gossett PLLC, Lansing; and Joseph C. Smith, Smith & Gibson, PC, Southfield.

From the MSC’s statement announcing the appointments:

The committee is charged with ensuring that the Model Civil Jury Instructions are concise, understandable, conversational, unslanted, and not argumentative. …

The Model Civil Jury Instructions are online… . The web site also includes information on how to contact the committee to comment on existing or proposed jury instructions, or to suggest new instructions.