Lansing legal community mourns Stuart Dunnings Jr.

“He was one hell of an attorney. He was good, tremendous! He would win cases that were unbelievable that you never thought he would win.”

That’s how Rudy Wilson remembers Lansing legal icon Stuart Dunnings Jr., who died Wednesday. He was 58.

Wilson, Dunning’s good friend of more than 50 years, was reminiscing for WLNS-TV reporter Alison Himelhoch’s post on the station’s Web site.

Dunnings Jr. had a long and distinguished career as a forceful advocate and a champion of civil rights.

He was Lansing’s first black lawyer, reports The Lansing State Journal.

Dunnings was the father of Ingham County Prosecutor Stuart Dunnings III. From The Lansing State Journal:

Stuart Dunnings III credits his father’s good name with helping to win him election to the prosecutor’s office in 1996.

“People think I’m Stuart Dunnings,” Dunnings III said. “The real Stuart Dunnings is my dad.”

Dunnings III noted that his father set high standards and that not meeting those standards was not an option. He said he realized early on that: “I was the son of a great man whose greatness I would never achieve,” Dunnings III said. “I’m just proud to have been his son.”

Services for Stuart Dunnings Jr. are scheduled for 11 a.m. Monday at Trinity African Methodist Episcopal Church in Lansing. Riley Funeral Home in Lansing is handling the arrangements.

1 thought on “Lansing legal community mourns Stuart Dunnings Jr.

  1. This letter goes out to all the members of the Dunning family, especially Stuart III. I am saddened to hear of your father’s passing. I first met your Dad when I was the Chief Assistant Prosecutor for Jackson County back in the 1960’s.First and foremost he was always a gentlemen, very respectful of opposing counsel, the judges and our judicial system. As a young lawyer I was impressed with your Dad’s legal mind and trial expertise. I always came away from a trial proceeding with your Dad, having learned something new. After being elected 12th District Judge it was always a pleasure having your Dad before me. I have the distinct memory of the day your Dad came into my courtroom and proudly introduced his son as a new member of the State Bar of Michigan. Stuart III, I have personally followed your career,as Ingham County Prosecutor and can truely say you are carrying the fine Dunnings tradition your father started many years ago. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    Lysle G. Hall Retired District Judge.

Leave a comment